Conference 2010

Perspectives on Democratic Political Thought

Click here to view the full conference schedule.


Call for Papers (Revised deadline: 31 January 2010)

Date: 4-5 May 2010

Venue: Room G37, Senate House, London

Democracy and the multifarious debates which surround it continue to hold a deep fascination for students of the history of political thought as well as contemporary political theory. This conference will aim to demonstrate the variety of postgraduate research into the history of democratic thought in its ancient, medieval, early-modern and modern contexts. In particular, proposals for papers will be welcomed which address the following themes:

Is it possible to consider modern democracy independently of ideas about representation?

The relation between democracy and republicanism.

Democracy and the concept of the political.

Ancient vs. modern democracy.

Democracy and freedom.

Democracy and terrorism.

Democracy and equality.

Democracy and our trust in those who govern.

Abstracts (max. 300 words) will be welcomed from any postgraduate working in the history of political thought. Proposals will also be accepted from those working in classics, languages, philosophy, politics, and the humanities generally.

As well as three postgraduate panels, there will be a keynote address by Professor John Dunn, (Kings College, Cambridge) and comments from Professors Jeremy Jennings (QMUL) and Quentin Skinner (QMUL).

In the near future papers will be available to read in .pdf format on this website, and possibly in an audio format as well. Please watch this space for further updates.


To register for the conference, please complete the form on the right of this page. We will email back with details of how you can log onto the site and view abstracts from the papers in the lead up to the conference. Registration is free.


If you would like to apply to speak at the conference, please email an abstract of no more than 300 words for papers of 25-30 minutes, along with a CV to the address below no later than 31st December 2009.